A walk in Rome

Many years ago, a friend told me that whenever he had trouble falling asleep he’d close his eyes and imagine long walks through places he’d once lived.

I loved this idea, and  I’ve tried it myself. And my complete inability to recall any of these night wanderings is proof, I take it,  that they put me straight to sleep.

I know I’ve said it here before, but we love walking through this city. And one of my very favourite walks is the one we take to the children’s library in the centro storico. I took the kids just the other day, and couldn’t resist taking photographs along the way. Perhaps it’ll help me remember on some future night when I just can’t sleep.

IMG_5690
At the end of our block- escape passageway between Castel St. Angelo and The Vatican – Pope Clement VII walked it to safety during the Sack of Rome in 1527
IMG_5691
Pass St. Peters on the right
IMG_5699
Crossing the Tiber, with Castel St. Angelo to the left
IMG_5711
Turn down Via Giulia, “the” address in the 16th and 17th centuries (not too shabby today)

 

IMG_5705
Nearly every building a palazzo…
IMG_5709
Peeking into palazzo courtyards
IMG_5702
The guard wouldn’t let us get close enough to photograph the fountain

 

 

IMG_5706
Palazzo detail

 

IMG_5718
At some point, head one block East. (Is it East? I think it’s East.)

 

IMG_5724
Turn left onto Via di Monserrato

 

IMG_5720
Mary is everywhere in Rome

IMG_5723

IMG_5727

IMG_5730

IMG_5728
Fountains, too

 

IMG_5733

 

IMG_5740
Not every corner is picture-perfect

 

IMG_5741
Alms for the poor

 

 

IMG_5735
You are almost there!

IMG_5738

IMG_5739
Pass the (1ooth?) church…
IMG_5742
And into the library!

If you’ve lasted this long, perhaps you’d like to join us on the journey home? We take another route back, of course.

IMG_5743
Such a pretty piazza

 

 

gelato
Everyone’s earned a gelato
IMG_5749
Campo de’ Fiori Market, closing up for the evening

 

IMG_5753

IMG_5754
Tillie dreams of a bedroom on that yellow bridge, Via dei Cappellari

 

 

IMG_5759
Some businesses stick around for centuries in this city

 

IMG_5761
I always love this brown building. It has such oomph.
IMG_5763
Tourist shlock
IMG_5764
Over the bridge back home

IMG_5766

IMG_5770
And into the park to visit our neighbour, Emperor Hadrian. Doesn’t it look like he’s busted his selfie stick?

P.S.: We got a good haul of books. Thank you, Biblioteca Centrale Ragazzi!

 

 

 

Leave a comment